DUE TO INCREASED COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS ACROSS CANADA

SPIN DAY 2020 MAIN EVENT ON NOV. 21 HAS BEEN POSTPONED

We’re really sad and sorry.  LEARN MORE

But we are hosting a teaser event on Nov. 21 at noon MST instead! LEARN MORE

Book Your Bike

for SPIN Day 2020

Please note, Booking Your Bike is on pause, but the information is still useful to learn about SPIN Day.

To keep everybody safe, COVID-19 precautions are central to our SPIN Day experience.

For this reason we are live streaming the full SPIN Day experience so that anyone, anywhere across Canada or around the world can participate safely from their own spin bike at home.

If you don’t have a bike at home, that’s where our partnered spin studio Hubs come in. In regions of Canada where we have a combination of Spinners and health regulations are allowing for fitness facilities to stay open, we’ve lined up a series of awesome studios in which you can reserve a spin bike for your hour of Spinning on SPIN Day. All the Hubs have top notch COVID precautions in place (details below and on their specific studio Hub pages) and we’ve designed the schedule so that there is an hour of cleaning time between any two groups of Spinners (which are also limited in size to as regulations define). 

Check out the information below to find the Spin Hour and spin location that best suits you!

Step 1: Home or Hub?

HOME

Click this button to indicate that you are all set to spin at Home.

Please also click here if you are spinning in a private office location.

You’ll need

  • Your own stationary bike (or outdoor bike on an indoor trainer)
  • Smartphone with the free Motosumo App downloaded (Apple / Android) – you’ll need to mount it on your handlebars or rest it in your water bottle holster
  • Internet-connected computer, tablet, or SmartTV to tune into the livestream

If you need help, please email [email protected] or phone 1-888-508-9277

HUB

Click on one of the spin studio logos to book a bike at that Hub. 

Double check the location, bike and pedal types, and Spin Hours being hosted at each location to find the one best suited to you.

You’ll need

  • To strictly follow all of the COVID-19 safety precautions (both Spin For Life’s and the specific studio’s — be prepared for paperwork!)
  • Smartphone with the free Motosumo App downloaded (Apple / Android) – you’ll need to mount it on your handlebars or rest it in your water bottle holster
  • Come ready to spin! Arrive 20 minutes before your selected Spin Hour, follow the prompts from the Hub staff and volunteers

If you need help, please email [email protected] or phone 1-888-508-9277

Click on a logo to learn more about the Hub

SASKATCHEWAN STUDIO HUB

Meadow Lake

Step 2: Choose Your Hour(s)

SPIN Day Schedule

Opening Ceremony

10:30 AM PST | 11:30 AM MST | 12:30 PM CST | 1:30 PM EST | 2:30 PM AST

Hour 1: Canada | Presented by AirSprint | Coral Budd

11:00 AM PST | 12:00 PM MST | 1:00 PM CST | 2:00 PM EST | 3:00 PM AST

Hour 2: USA to Panama | Ray Welsh

12:00 PM PST | 1:00 PM MST | 2:00 PM CST | 3:00 PM EST | 4:00 PM AST

Hour 3: South America | Helen Vanderburg

1:00 PM PST | 2:00 PM MST | 3:00 PM CST | 4:00 PM EST | 5:00 PM AST

Hour 4: Antarctica to Australia | Youth Hour | Paxton McKee

2:00 PM PST | 3:00 PM MST | 4:00 PM CST | 5:00 PM EST | 6:00 PM AST

Hour 5: Asia | French Hour | David Parent

3:00 PM PST | 4:00 PM MST | 5:00 PM CST | 6:00 PM EST | 7:00 PM AST

Hour 6: Central Asia | Rage Ride 18+ | Leo Sammarelli

4:00 PM PST | 5:00 PM MST | 6:00 PM CST | 7:00 PM EST | 8:00 PM AST

Hour 7: Africa | Ashley King

5:00 PM PST | 6:00 PM MST | 7:00 PM CST | 8:00 PM EST | 9:00 PM AST

Hour 8: Europe to Home | Team Teach | Bilingual EN-FR

Claire Johnstone & Steve Klintberg Nagy

6:00 PM PST | 7:00 PM MST | 8:00 PM CST | 9:00 PM EST | 10:00 PM AST

Closing Ceremony & Afterparty | 30 minutes

7:00 PM PST | 8:00 PM MST | 9:00 PM CST | 10:00 PM EST | 11:00 PM AST

Meet the Spin Guides

Coral Budd

Hour 1: Across Canada​

@pureenergyspin

Coral is the founder of Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan’s only cycling studio, Pure Energy Spin

She is also a four-time cancer survivor, a mother, and a super high energy spin instructor. Her passion is helping her members learn to love movement on the bike.

This will be a trans-Canada journey like no other!

Ray Welsh

Hour 2: USA to Panama

@sweetlikethat

Ray has been instructing for over six years, now making her home at both PUSH Cycling and Rhythm Ride in the Calgary area.

Ray pumps her classes full of music. She is known for playlists that get Spinners out of their saddle, having fun, and pushing their limits. 

Choreography is her jam!

Get ready for pedal pumping party!

Helen Vanderburg

Hour 3: South America

@vanderburghelen

If you are looking for somebody to kick your butt up and over the Andes Mountains and through the Amazon Rainforest, there is no better person than Helen Vanderburg.

She is the owner and founder of The Academy (formerly Heavens Fitness) and a Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame inductee. 

Helen is a world champion synchronized swimmer and Schwinn Master Trainer.

Paxton McKee

Hour 4: Down Under

Youth Hour | Antarctica & Aus

@pureenergyspin | @pbmckee15

Paxton is young (she just turned 15), skilled, and has a playlist filled with more TikTok favourites. 

She is geared and ready to take Spinners of all ages through the windswept ice of Antarctica through the Australian outback.

She’s witnessed cancer closely, in her inspiring mom, Coral (Spin Guide Hour 1)

David Parent

Hour 5: Asia

Heure en français

@officialdavidparent

An actor, a teacher, a gymnastic, a consummate athlete, David will be co-hosting the Support (Public) Livestream and bringing the party to the pedals in Hour 5.

He will be guiding Hour 5 fully in French.

Be ready for pulsing lights, epic cities, and a K-Pop driven soundscape!

Leo Sammarelli

Hour 6: Central Asia

Rage Ride | 18+

@sammarelli

This hour ain’t for the faint of heart. It kicks off with a Himalayan Hill Climb and keeps going hard from there. 

In the guide seat is Leo, an adaptive boxer petitioning to bring wheelchair boxing to the Paralympics. 

He’s cycled the Whistler Gran Fondo and hike Grouse Grind on his hands. You better be ready to rage ’cause Leo’s gonna push you to the max.

Ashley King

Hour 7: Africa

@ashkng

Ashley loves spinning because of how accessible it is. As somebody living with visual impairment (1% eyesight), group fitness can be difficult, but spin is on point.

Ashley will be guiding our tour of Africa, complete with an enhanced soundscape and just enough cycling challenges to give a moment to enjoy the scenery between volcanic mountain climbs.

Claire Johnstone

Hour 8: Europe to Canada

Team Teach | Bilingual

@runlikethewild

Five Ironman, a bunch of Half-Ironman, ultra-marathons, ITU Age Group World Championships for Long Distance Triathlon…

Claire has spent a lot of time on many continents running, biking, and swimming.

She’ll be guiding us home through Europe in Hour 8 and bilingually co-hosting the Supporter Livestream.

Steve Klintberg Nagy

Hour 8: Europe to Canada

Team Teach | Bilingual

@wheresnagy | @rockethouse

Steve is the co-founder of Spin For Life. This whole thing got it’s start over a beer he and Eric Bennett shared many years ago.

He’ll be joining Claire for Hour 8. (It’s a good thing these bikes are stationary because he’d never keep up.)

Steve will also be co-hosting the Supporter Livestream with David and Claire.

Two Broadcasts on SPIN Day

Spinner Livestream | Private

Only for Registered Spinners 

Includes the Opening and Closing Ceremonies and all 8 back-to-back Spin Hours.

At Hub: Watch on the big Screen

At Home: Tune in on your computer or tablet — cast it to a TV for bigger screen

Private livestream video link will be emailed to you, OR access the embedded live video when you login to ‘My Account’ on spinforlife.ca on SPIN Day

Keep watching even after you’re off the bike! Enjoy the whole day!

Supporter Livestream | For Everyone to Watch

For Everyone! Tell your friends!

Includes the Opening and Closing Ceremonies, highlights of the 8 Spin Hours, cancer stories, research and donation information, and a whole lot more. 

The Supporter Livestream is hosted bilingually in both English and French.

Available on the spinforlife.ca homepage and Spin’s Facebook page.

Watch all day and share it with everyone you know! We’ll still be accepting donations!

@spinforlifeca   #spinforlife    #spinpourlavie    #lifebeyondcancer

COVID-19 Safety Protocols

Spin for Life is doing everything we possibly can to be one of the few cancer fundraising events that is able to move forward, safely, and at low-risk during the pandemic. These are among our many safety measures:

  • All of the event content is broadcast digitally so Spinners can participate from home or a small group location such as a private office or one of our partnered Spin Studio Hubs
  • Masks are required in all small group settings when not actively exercising
  • If you are comfortable wearing your mask while on the bike, we recommend it
  • All volunteers and staff are required to wear masks at all times unless speaking on camera, in which case a minimum distance to the person is 2m (4m if exercising)
  • All bikes are spaced a minimum of 3m apart
  • Bikes, common spaces, and equipment are thoroughly sanitized between use
  • Groups of Spinners are limited to the maximum regulated in the region (often 5, 8, 15, 20, or 50)
  • An hour of cleaning is scheduled between any two groups of Spinners in a Hub or common area – this is to allow thorough cleaning time and to eliminate overlap between groups so that any potential spread will be as limited in scope as possible
  • All Spinners, volunteers, and staff must fill out a pre-event health questionnaire and waiver in the week ahead of the event and a subsequent COVID-19 check-in form when arriving at their Hub
  • It is the responsibility of the Spinner to NOT PARICIPATE if they have had any increased risk of COVID-19 exposure or are feeling unwell or are exhibiting any symptoms of COVID-19
  • No physical contact between Spinners, staff, or volunteers, is allowed except in an emergency situation

Rest assured that if you are feeling unwell and wisely decide to sit it out on SPIN Day, we will re-broadcast the event multiple times to you an opportunity to Spin.

AirSprint has made Spin For Life masks for everyone! Expect them to be at your Hubs or in the mail for SPIN Day!

 

Air Sniper is putting their industrial air purifiers into all of our Alberta Spin Studio Hubs and the Peak Technologies film studio in Vancouver. These units effectively kill airborne pathogens with a wall of UVC bulbs as the air is circulated. 

Stay Safe and Enjoy SPIN Day!